Skip to main content

Hill and Reimers Elected To NAEd

The National Academy of Education honors two Harvard scholars for their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development
L-r: Heather Hill and Fernando Reimers

Professors Heather Hill and Fernando Reimers have been elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd), recognizing their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development. The two HGSE professors were part of a class of 18 educators that NAEd announced as new members earlier this month.

Reimers is the Ford Foundation Professor of the Practice of International Education and director of the Global Education Innovation Initiative at Harvard University. His current work focuses on educational innovation and the impact policy, leadership, and teacher professional development has on the education of children and youth. He has written or edited 45 books and teaches graduate courses on education policy and educational innovation, developing a signature approach to engage students to contribute solutions to challenging educational issues.

Hill, meanwhile, is the Hazen-Nicoli Professor in Teacher Learning and Practice and co-chair of the Teaching and Teacher Leadership (TTL) Program. Her work studies policies and programs designed to improve teacher and teaching quality, focusing on professional development, instructional coaching, teacher evaluation, and changes in mathematical knowledge and instruction. Hill is a fellow of the American Educational Research Association and serves on the editorial boards of several journals.

NAEd was founded in 1965 and advances the highest quality education research and its use in policy and practice. It consists of international members who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship in education. Nominations are submitted by academy members once a year for review and election by the entire membership body.

Members serve on expert panels that study pressing issues in education and are deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

Hill and Reimers join a membership that encompasses outstanding scholars from across the field — including HGSE Dean Bridget Long and Professors Nonie Lesaux, Patricia Albjerg Graham, Susan Moore Johnson, Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Richard Murnane, David Perkins, Judith Singer, Catherine Snow, Andrew Ho, and Susan Dynarski.

Also named among the new members of NAEd is HGSE alum Mary Helen Immordino-Yang, Ed.M.’98, Ed.D.’05, of the University of Southern California.


The latest research, perspectives, and highlights from the Harvard Graduate School of Education

Related Articles