Information For:

Give back to HGSE and support the next generation of passionate educators and innovative leaders.

News & Events

McCartney, Schwartz Elected to NAEd

Dean Kathleen McCartney and Professor Robert Schwartz have been elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd) for their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development.

“The newly elected members are preeminent leaders in their respective areas of educational research, and they are recognized for the extraordinary influence that they have had on education in the U.S. and abroad,” said NAEd President Susan Fuhrman.

NAEd advances the highest quality education research and its use in policy formation and practice. Founded in 1965, the NAEd consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual members once a year for review and election by the entire membership.

In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

McCartney and Schwartz will join 10 other newly elected education leaders: Lindsay Chase Lansdale, Northwestern University; Jeffrey Henig, Teacher's College, Columbia University; Susanna Loeb, Stanford University; Jeffrey Mirel, University of Michigan; Anna Neumann, Teacher's College, Columbia University; Mike Rose, UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies; Robert Rueda, University of Southern California; Rubén Rumbaut, University of California, Irvine; Lois Weis, University of Buffalo; Roger Weissberg, The University of Illinois at Chicago.