Skip to main content

Long, Lesaux Elected to NAEd

Every year, the National Academy of Education honors scholars for their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development.

HGSE Dean Bridget Terry Long and Academic Dean and Professor Nonie Lesaux have been elected to the National Academy of Education (NAEd) for their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development.

“This diverse group of scholars are being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to education research and policy. These leaders are at the forefront of those helping to improve the lives of students in the United States and abroad,” said NAEd President Gloria Ladson-Billing, in announcing the new class of members.

Long is an economist who focuses on the transition from high school to higher education and beyond. Her research examines the impact of factors such as affordability and academic preparation on college student outcomes. 

Lesaux's research focuses on promoting the language and literacy skills of today's children from diverse linguistic, cultural and economic backgrounds, and is conducted largely in urban and semi-urban cities and school districts.

NAEd advances the highest quality education research and its use in policy and practice. Founded in 1965, the NAEd consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual academy members once a year for review and election by the entire membership.

In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs such as the NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the NAEd/Spencer Dissertation Fellowship Program.

HGSE alumni Sylvia Hurtado, Ed.M.'83, professor at UCLA's Graduate School of Education & Information Sciences; and William Penuel, Ed.M.'92, professor at Univeristy of Colorado, Boulder's School of Education, were also elected to the NAEd.

Long and Lesaux will join 14 other newly elected education leaders, including Hurtado; Penuel; Alfredo Artiles, Arizona State University; Arnetha Ball, Stanford University; Rami Benbenishty, Bar Ilan University; Howard Bloom, MDRC; John Fantuzzo, University of Pennsylvania; Diana Hess, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Joseph Krajcik, Michigan State University; Teresa McCarty, UCLA; Laura Perna, University of Pennsylvania; Cybele Raver, New York University; Diane Whitmore Schanzenbach, Northwestern University; and Stanton Wortham, Boston College.


The latest research, perspectives, and highlights from the Harvard Graduate School of Education

Related Articles