Skip to main content

Honors Presented at HGSE Convocation 2023

Featuring an address by higher education leader Ruth Simmons, remarks from graduating student speakers Cole Wilson, Ed.M.'23 and Ebonee Green, Ed.L.D.'23, and a speech from Lecturer Timothy McCarthy

Complete list of honorees:

Convocation Speaker: Ruth Simmons

Student Speakers: Ebonee Green, Ed.L.D., and Cole Wilson, Ed.M.

Student-Selected Faculty Speaker: Lecturer Timothy McCarthy

Morningstar Family Teaching Award: Alexis Redding

Intellectual Contribution Award
Education Leadership, Organizations, and Entrepreneurship – Jared Bellot, Palki Bhattacharyya 
Education Policy and Analysis – Doris Alcántara, Bruno Villegas McCubbin 
Human Development and Education – Amelea Ng, Estela Sato Shiratori 
Learning Design, Innovation, and Technology – Mrinmoy Saha, Dana Vera 
Teaching and Teacher Leadership – Bobby Russo, Molly Dutton Sanderson

Phyllis Strimling Award: Amanda Aiken, Ed.L.D.

Ph.D. – Paulina Haduong and Eileen McGivney 
Ed.L.D. – Mekka Smith and J.J. Munoz 
Education Leadership, Organizations, and Entrepreneurship – Ivy Ryan 
Education Policy and Analysis – Rahat Lokhandwala 
Human Development and Education – Hinako Irei 
Learning Design, Innovation, and Technology – Shreya Verma 
Teaching and Teacher Leadership – Lila Bethel

Alumni Council Awards: Carnell Chosa, Ed.M.’96, and Nancy Thomas, Ed.D.’96 

For more information on Commencement 2023, visit:


The latest research, perspectives, and highlights from the Harvard Graduate School of Education

Related Articles