Information For:

Give back to HGSE and support the next generation of passionate educators and innovative leaders.

News & Events

HGSE Community Celebrates Recent Honors

Over the last year, a number of Harvard Graduate School of Education faculty, students, and alumni were recognized for their hard work and achievements with awards and fellowships
Gold star with confetti

Below is a look at a small portion of the prestigious honors awarded to members of the HGSE community:




  • Brown University's Matthew Kraft, Ed.D.'13, was honored by AERA with the Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Award which honors scholars exemplary in their capacity to communicate the importance of education research to the broad public, including education communities. 
  • Fordham's Elizabeth Leisy Stosich, Ed.D.'12, Ed.D.'15 received AERA's 2022 Division A Emerging Scholar Award, in recognition of her outstanding work as a pre-tenure scholar in educational leadership.
  • NYU's Alejandro Ganimian, Ed.D.'15, and University of Virginia's Beth Schueler, Ed.D.'16, were named 2022 NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellows
  • Sheldon Berman, Ed.M.'93, Ed.D.'93, former superintendent of Andover (Massachusetts) Public Schools was honored by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, with its lifetime achievement award, the Distinguished Service Award
  • Dwight Miller, Ed.M.'71, was among the recipients of the Harvard Medal, given by the Harvard Alumni Association to those who have demonstrated extraordinary service to the university in areas including teaching, fundraising, leadership, innovation, administration, and volunteerism. 
  • Dexter Moore, Ed.L.D.'22, was one of two recipients of the Titus and Venus Awards at Harvard's Black Graduation in May. It is awarded to two graduating students that have demonstrated outstanding commitments to positively extending a legacy of community-building amongst the Black Harvard Community, the Harvard community at large, and plan to work immediately in full-time employment directly impacting at least one predominately Black community within the African diaspora.
  • Alexander Uryga, Ed.M.'18, social studies teacher at The Cambridge Matignon School in Massachusetts, is a 2022 recipient of the Richard Aieta Award for Promising Teacher from the Massachusetts Council for the Social Studies. The Promising Teacher Award is presented annually to a social studies teacher who has made an impact on his/her students, colleagues, and/or the community during their first five years of teaching.
  • Trevor Ladner, Ed.M.'21, a social studies teacher at Ednovate charter schools in Los Angeles, was awarded a Gale-CLGBTH Non-Residential Fellowship to create a digital humanities project for use in K–12 learning, tentatively titled LGBT Lives and Legal Rights: Impacts of Progress of Struggle.
  • Beth Krensky, Ed.M.'91, received the 2022 Utah Higher Education Art Educator of the Year Award. She is a professor of art education and the Area Head of Art Teaching at the University of Utah.
  • Monica Figueroa, Ed.M.'22, was awarded a Summer Entrepreneurship Fellowship by HGSE to continue work on her venture, Learning Momentos. She was also one of the Launch Fund Winners by the Lemann Program on Creativity and Entrepreneurship to launch the venture.
  • How the Word Is Passed, a book by Clint Smith, Ph.D.'20, was winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction, the Hillman Prize for Book Journalism, and the Stowe Prize. It was also named a finalist for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction and the Southern Book Prize, and was longlisted for the National Book Award in Nonfiction.
  • Tolani Brittan, Ed.M.'15, Ed.D.'18, received the Early Career Award in Educational Policy and Politics from AERA.
  • The Harvard Project on the Workforce announced that among its 2022 Summer Fellows are HGSE alumni Priya Malhotra, Ed.M.'22; Vance Stephens, Ed.M.'22; Tanya Budler, Ed.M.'22; Kerry McKittrick, Ed.M.'22; Kayla Waysome, Ed.M.'22; Julia Paolillo, Ed.M.'22; Anna Guadarrama, Ed.M.'22; and Hisa Tome Streim, Ed.M.'22. Master's student Sherry Seibel is also among the cohort.
  • Tanya Wright, Ed.M.'22, won the HIVE (Harvard GSE Innovation & Ventures in Education) pitch competition's Seedling Award for most promising early stage venture for her project, Big Hair Hairiette. She also received the Education Entrepreneurship Summer Fellowship.
  • Dean Celaj, Ed.M.'22, was chosen as one of Forbes 30 Under 30 for Europe for his edtech startup
  • Slam Out Loud, an enterprise led by Jigyasa Labroo, Ed.M.'22, was a finalist in the President’s Innovation Challenge – Social Impact track.
  • Leslie Stebbins, Ed.M.'10, received a grant from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Program for Public Understanding of Science, Technology and Economics for the book Building Back Truth in an Age of Misinformation to be published in February 2023.
  • Marilyn Brookwood, Ed.M.'08, won the 2022 Benjamin F. Shambaugh Award for her book The Orphans of Davenport: Eugenics, The Great Depression, and the War Over Children's Intelligence. The award recognizes the author of the most significant book published on Iowa history during the previous calendar year.
  • Jamila Ponton Bragg, Ed.M.'99, was awarded The Prince Fellowship, in association with Columbia University School of the Arts, to usher in the next generation of creative producers. Fellows receive a stipend and a budget for the development of a new theatrical production, access to courses in Columbia's MFA Theatre Management & Producing Program and mentorship from prominent producers and industry specialists.
  • Hector Gerardo Cendejas, Ed.M.'21, was selected the 2022 Field Liaison of the Year at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Social Work. The award is given to a "liaison that has demonstrated exceptional student teaching, agency coordination, and overall support to field education."

If you are a member of the HGSE community and recently have won an award or achieved a special honor, please email