Tuition and Fees
The following tuition charges are in effect for the 2020–2021 academic year (subject to change in future years).
|FULL-TIME STUDENTS: TUITION RATE||Per Academic Year||$51,904|
|PART-TIME STUDENTS: PER CREDIT TUITION RATE||1 credit||$1,622|
|PART-TIME STUDENTS: FLAT TUITION RATE (4 Semester Plan)||Per Semester||$12,976|
|PART-TIME STUDENTS: FLAT TUITION RATE (3 Semester Plan)||Fall 2020||$12,976|
|Spring 2021, Fall 2021, Spring 2022||$19,464|
|OTHER STUDENTS||Advanced Doctoral Fee for doctoral students who have fulfilled the tuition requirements per semester||$2,595|
|Active File Fee per semester||$125|
|Facilities Fee per semester||$250|
|Visiting Fellow per semester||$500|
|OTHER FEES||Harvard University Student Health Fee per year||$1,240*|
|Harvard University Student Health Insurance Plan||$3,922|
|Document Fee per year||$220**|
* Students outside of Massachusetts (whether elsewhere in the United States or internationally) will receive a 50% discount for the semester(s) they are remote.
** The document fee is a mandatory lifetime fee charged to students upon matriculation. The fee covers digital content created specifically for HGSE courses during the academic year, as well as official HGSE transcripts and enrollment and verification letters, etc. issued to the student.
Degree requirements stipulate that all Ed.M. and C.A.S. students are to be charged for at least eight courses (32 credits). Both full-time and part-time students may take a maximum of 40 credits during their degree (please note: How People Learn does not count toward the credit maximum; for those who complete How People Learn, their credit total cannot exceed 44). There is no charge for audited courses.
Full-time students are not assessed additional tuition for courses taken during January Term or May Term. Part-time students paying by the credit will have any January Term or May Term courses added to their spring tuition bill; How People Learn would be added to the fall tuition bill. Part-time students on the flat tuition rate have January Term and May Term courses included in their spring tuition, and How People Learn included in their fall tuition.
After fulfilling the tuition requirements, Ed.M. and C.A.S. students who have not completed their required coursework will be charged the HGSE facilities fee for any semesters in which they are enrolled in courses needed to fulfill degree requirements. The tuition charged for any repeated courses may not be included in the budget for financial aid purposes. Any courses taken that are not being used to fulfill degree requirements will be assessed tuition at the current per-course rate.
The Academic Calendar includes the schedule of tuition refunds for courses dropped or for cancellation of registration. This schedule also applies to students whose degree candidacy is terminated either by the student or by HGSE.
The Harvard University Student Health Program (HUSHP) Student Health Fee is billed to all registered students. Students may waive the HUSHP Student Health Fee if they meet any of the following criteria:
- Enrolled half time or less (must also waive the Student Health Insurance Plan)
- Enrolled in Harvard University Group Health Plan (HUGHP)
- On active military duty and prohibited from receiving health care from any facility other than Hanscom Air Force Base (requires an attestation form)
Massachusetts law requires that all full-time and part-time students enrolled in an institution of higher learning in Massachusetts participate in a qualifying student health insurance program or in a health plan with comparable coverage. Students enrolled in a comparable health insurance plan may be eligible to waive the Student Health Insurance Plan. Waivers must be completed by the appropriate deadline or the charges will remain on the student’s term bill. For more information on waiving, visit the Student Health Insurance website. Students living outside of Massachusetts and studying full time may request a 50% discounted rate for the Student Health fee while completing the degree program online.
Tuition Requirements for Doctor of Education (Ed.D.)
Full-time tuition is assessed in Years 1 and 2, reduced tuition (50% of full rate) is assessed in Year 3, and an advanced doctoral fee (10% of full rate) is assessed each semester until completion of the degree. Ed.D. students paying the Advanced Doctoral Fee ($2,341) each semester are entitled to all the privileges of registered HGSE students.
Additional courses may be taken at no additional cost. Tuition covers courses that enable a student to qualify for the Ed.D. or one Ed.M. in-passing degree.
Tuition Requirements for Doctor of Education Leadership (Ed.L.D)
All Ed.L.D. students (including those previously in the Ed.M. or C.A.S. programs) are subject to the following tuition requirements:
|First Two Years of Registration||Full Tuition|
|Third Year of Registration||Half Tuition|
|Registration Beyond Year Three||Facilities fee|
Students enrolled in the Ed.L.D. Program beyond the stated program duration limit (three years/six semesters) will be assessed a Facilities Fee ($250) each semester.
Tuition Requirements for Master of Education (Ed.M.) and Certificate of Advanced Study (C.A.S.)
Master’s and Certificate of Advanced Study students must pay one year of full tuition. Courses taken at Harvard Summer School (the Division of Continuing Education) and accepted for academic credit do not reduce tuition requirements. Students enrolled half-time must pay tuition at the half-rate for two years (four semesters). After fulfilling the tuition requirement, Ed.M. and C.A.S. students who have not completed their required coursework will be charged the HGSE facilities fee for any semesters in which they are enrolled in courses needed to fulfill degree requirements. Any courses taken that are not being used to fulfill degree requirements will be assessed tuition at the current per-course tuition rate. For additional information, please contact the HGSE Office of the Registrar.
Tuition Requirements for Ed.D. and Ed.L.D. Students Graduating in November and March
Doctoral students who graduate in November 2020 or March 2021 are subject to the following deadlines affecting tuition and health insurance charges:
|November 2020 Doctoral Candidates - Deadlines that affect fall 2020 Tuition and Health Insurance Charges|
Ed.D.: Date by which student submits dissertation PDF to Programs Office and Electronic Dissertation Submission site*
Ed.L.D.: Date by which student completes third-year residency AND submits an approved Capstone
|On or before Sept. 9, 2020||Sept. 10, 2020 – Oct. 19, 2020*|
|Must register for fall semester?||No||Yes|
|Charged fall tuition?||Yes, but tuition charges will be reversed.||Yes, but tuition charges will be reversed.|
|Covered by fall Harvard University Student Health Insurance?||No. If already charged for/ enrolled in fall insurance, it will be retroactively canceled back to July 31, 2020 and student will be charged for any medical costs incurred on or after Aug. 1, 2020.||Yes. Will be charged for the period Aug. 1, 2020 - Jan. 31, 2021 (unless waiver is approved).|
|Last Date of Attendance||Sept. 9, 2020||Oct. 19, 2020|
*In order to receive a November 2020 degree, the Ed.D. Program Office must receive all reader approvals no later than Friday, October 16, 2020, 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time.
|March 2021 Doctoral Candidates - Deadlines that affect Spring 2021 Tuition and Health Insurance Charges|
Ed.D.: Date by which student submits dissertation PDF to Programs Office and Electronic Dissertation Submission site**
Ed.L.D.: Date by which student completes third-year residency AND submits an approved Capstone
|On or before Feb. 3, 2021||Feb. 4–15, 2021|
|Must register for spring semester?||No||Yes|
|Charged spring tuition?||Yes, but tuition charges will be reversed.||Yes, but tuition charges will be reversed.|
|Covered by spring Harvard University Student Health Insurance?||No. If already charged for spring insurance, it will be retroactively canceled back to Jan. 31, 2021 and students will be charged for any medical costs incurred on or after Feb. 1, 2021.||Yes. If already charged for spring insurance, it will be retroactively canceled back to Jan. 31, 2020 and students will be charged for any medical costs incurred on or after Feb. 1, 2021.|
|Last Date of Attendance||Feb. 3, 2021||Feb. 15, 2021|
** In order to receive a March 2021 degree, the Ed.D. Program Office must receive all reader approvals no later than Friday, February 12, 2021, 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time.
Students must be registered in the spring semester and pay spring tuition in order to be eligible for a May 2021 degree.
Schedule of Tuition Payments
Current tuition is due in advance of each semester for which the student registers. Before being allowed to register, a student is expected to pay the semester’s tuition in full by the stated deadline, unless they are on the Monthly Payment Plan. The Monthly Payment Plan, which carries a service charge per semester, is available to all students through the University Student Billing Office. A student who is on the Monthly Payment Plan is expected to pay any outstanding previous balance in full and at least one-quarter of the current semester’s bill. Students who fail to make timely monthly payments may not be allowed this option in the future. No student will be permitted to register in any term until all money due from prior term bills is paid in full. Financial Aid in one academic year may not be used to cover a balance due from a prior year.
In accordance with the Veterans Benefits and Transition Act of 2018, HGSE will not: impose a late fee, prevent a student from attending classes, or demand payment for funds expected to be covered by the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) until 90 days after the beginning of the term. Students are responsible for all charges posted to their student accounts beyond the amount of tuition and fee payment from the VA. HGSE may require students to provide documentation to ensure that they are entitled to GI Bill benefits.
Students at Harvard University are billed electronically. In lieu of a monthly paper bill, students are sent, via monthly emails, web links that will enable them to view their student bills online as well as to make payments electronically. Payments may be made either electronically or by check. Credit card payments are not accepted. Students who need a paper copy of their bill may print a PDF copy.
If an e-payment or check is returned by the bank, the student’s account will be charged a $25 returned check fee. Multiple returned payments may result in the university requiring future payments to be made by certified or bank check. Please note that it can take a week or more before a bank notifies the university that a payment has been returned. Student accounts will not reflect a returned payment until information is received from the bank
Students should be aware that diplomas will be withheld until all indebtedness to the university is paid in full. In addition, the school may withhold some services to students or former students with outstanding debts to the university.