Information For:

Give back to HGSE and support the next generation of passionate educators and innovative leaders.


Alumni Council Award Recipients

2018: Douglas E. Wood
Ed.M.'96, Ed.D.'00
Senior Fellow on Justice and Equity, Aspen Institute
New York, NY

2017: James Kemple
Ed.M.'86, Ed.D.'89
Research Professor and Executive Director of the Research Alliance for New York City Schools at the Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development at New York University
New York, NY

2016: Tarajean Yazzie-Mintz
Senior Program Officer for Early Childhood Education Initiatives and Co-Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs with the American Indian College Fund
Denver, CO

2015: Denise Juneau
Montana State Superintendent of Public Instruction

2014: Magdalene Lampert
Professor Emerita at the University of Michigan; Senior Adviser for the Boston Teacher Residency Program
Somerville, MA

2013: Jeanne Brooks-Gunn
Ed.M. '70
Professor of Child Development at Teachers College and the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Colombia University;
Director of the National Center for Children and Families
New York, NY

2012: Nanette Lee Reynolds
Ed.D. '78
Educator and Social Justice Activist; Former Director, Michigan Department of Civil Rights
Atlanta, GA

2011: Timothy Knowles
Ed.M.'96, Ed.D.'02
John Dewey Director and Clinical Professor at the University of Chicago Urban Education Institute (UEI)

2010: Charles F. Dey
Educator, Administrator, and Director of the National Organization on Disability's Start on Success Program

2009: Ernesto Schiefelbein
Professor, Researcher, and Educational Reformer, Chile

2008: Geoffrey Canada
President and CEO of the Harlem Children's Zone

2007: Eleanor Linn

Nan Stein
Senior Research Scientist, Wellesley College Center for Research on Women
Wellesley, MA

2006: John Merrow
Journalist, NPR
New York, NY

2005: Elizabeth Hale
President, Institute for Educational Leadership
Washington D.C.

2004: Stephen W. Raudenbush
Professor, School of Education and Survey Research Center, and, by courtesy, Department of Statistics and Sociology at The University of Michigan

2003: Helen Klassen
Ed.M. '93, Ed.D. '96
Founder and president of the White Earth Tribal and Community College

2002: Roland Barth
Ed.M.'62, Ed.D.'70
Independent Educational Consultant
Alna, ME

2001: Jay P. Heubert
Associate Professor of Education and Law
Teachers College, Columbia University
New York, NY

2000: Chris Anne Affleck
5th Grade Teacher, John M. Tobin School
Cambridge, MA

1999: Alonzo Crim*
C.A.S.'68, Ed.D.'69
Professor of Education, Spelman College
Atlanta, GA

1998: Donald R. Moore
M.A.T.'66, Ed.D.'71
Director, Designs for Change
Chicago, IL

1997: Mary Jo Bane
M.A.T.'66, Ed.D.'72
Former Assistant Secretary for Children and Families
U.S. Department of Health and Human Service
Washington, D.C.

1996: Thomas Sobol
Former Commissioner of Education for the State of New York
New York, NY

1995: Thomas Payzant
M.A.T.'63, C.A.S.'66, Ed.D.'68
U.S. Assistant Secretary of Education
Washington, D.C.

1994: Theodore R. Sizer*
Professor of Education, Brown University, Providence, RI
Chairman of the Coalition of Essential Schools

1993: Lisa Delpit
Ed.M. '80, Ed.D. '84
Senior Research Associate, Morgan State University
Baltimore, MD

1992: Jane Roland Martin
Professor of Philosophy, University of Massachusetts
Boston, MA

1991: Ellen Swepson Jackson*
Dean and Director of Affirmative Action
Northeastern University
Boston, MA

1990: Lauren Resnick
R.M.A.T.'58, Ed.D.'62
Director, Learning Research and Development Center
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

1989: Gregory Anrig*
M.A.T.'56, C.A.S.'60, Ed.D.'63
President, Educational Testing Service
Princeton, NJ

1988: William Harvey
C.A.S.'69, Ed.D.'72
President, Hampton University

1987: Edward J. Meade, Jr.*
C.A.S.'59, Ed.D.'60
Program Officer, Urban Poverty Program, Ford Foundation,
New York, NY

1986: John B. Davis
Ed.M.'49, C.A.S.'59, Ed.D.'62
President Emeritus, Macalester College
St. Paul, MN

* Now Deceased

Note: The position listed is the position held at the time of the award.