Information For:

Give back to HGSE and support the next generation of passionate educators and innovative leaders.

About HGSE

History of HGSE


Paul Henry Hanus is named the first Harvard faculty member in education. Harvard President Charles William Eliot selects Hanus to develop the field of education at Harvard and Eliot's program of school reform.


The Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE) is established. Henry W. Holmes is appointed dean. HGSE is the first faculty to award women Harvard degrees.


The Harvard Graduate School of Education becomes the first school to grant a doctor of education (Ed.D.) degree.


The Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) degree is established, as an elite joint program of HGSE and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.


Francis Trow Spaulding becomes dean. Spaulding works to increase the enrollment of the school by expanding its focus to include administrative training, as well as by putting more emphasis on education research.


Francis Keppel is appointed dean. During Keppel’s 14-year administration, HGSE gained a strong national reputation as a leading institution for teacher preparation, advanced study, and research in education.


The Laboratory of Human Development (now the Human Development and Psychology Program) established to examine the psychological development of children in their families and communities. Faculty members undertake some of the first crosscultural studies of children in India, Mexico, the Philippines, and Africa under its aegis.


The M.A.T. is reorganized and expanded, emphasizing supervised classroom internships. It recruits top college graduates and becomes a national model for the profession.


The Administrative Career Program is started. The graduates of this specialized doctorate program to train educational leaders have gone on to lead many of the nation's finest school systems and educational institutions.


HGSE and WGBH-TV coproduce educational television programs French through Television and How Our Children Learn to Read.


Dean Francis Keppel leaves HGSE when he is named U.S. Commissioner of Education by President John F. Kennedy.


Theodore R. Sizer becomes dean. During his deanship, there are significant revisions to the curriculum, as well as an expansion of the school's areas of research.


Larsen Hall is dedicated. A lead gift from Roy E. Larsen, chairman of Time, Inc. — a public school advocate — establishes the new classroom and research center on HGSE's campus.


Project Zero is founded by Nelson Goodman to explore art and learning from a cognitive standpoint.


Paul N. Ylvisaker is named dean. Gutman Library is created with a lead gift from Monroe C. Gutman.


The Center for Research in Children's Television program is started. Faculty members and students help create content for shows like Sesame Street and The Electric Company in collaboration with the Children's Television Workshop.


Programs in Professional Education launches, offering educators the opportunity to develop new skills through intensive, short programs.


The Principals' Center opens, quickly becoming a national model for ongoing professional development organized by and for school leaders.


Patricia Albjerg Graham is named dean of HGSE, the first woman dean of a faculty at Harvard University.


The Midcareer Math and Science Program is established, anticipating the national need for talented math and science educators and becoming a model for more than 50 similar programs around the country.


The Urban Superintendents Program launches, the nation's first comprehensive doctoral program for urban educational leaders.


Jerome T. Murphy is named HGSE's seventh dean. Under his leadership, the school establishes several new master's and doctoral programs, including Technology in Education (now Technology, Innovation, and Education), International Education (now International Education Policy), and School Leadership.


The Emily Hargroves Fisher Professorship in Education is established. The chair will be renamed for Professor Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot upon her retirement from the faculty, making it the first professorship in Harvard's history to be named for an African-American woman.


HGSE completes a capital campaign totaling $111 million, including the endowment of 16 professorships. This represents the largest sum ever raised by a school of education up to that time.


Ellen Condliffe Lagemann is appointed the eighth dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education.


The Public Education Leadership Project (PELP) is launched. A joint project of the Ed School and the Harvard Business School, PELP works with urban schools to improve educational outcomes.


Kathleen McCartney is named dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education. McCartney oversees the renovation and modernization of HGSE's buildings and facilities, including the addition of innovative classroom spaces in Larsen and a thriving community space in Gutman Library. HGSE received four LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) awards for these projects.


The Doctor of Education Leadership (Ed.L.D) Program is created. The innovative, three-year, practice-based program integrates the fields of education, business, and public policy in visionary ways, offering students access to the vast intellectual and professional resources of HGSE, the Harvard Business School, the Harvard Kennedy School, and the other schools at Harvard.


The Ph.D. in Education, to be offered jointly by the Harvard Graduate School of Education and the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, is approved unanimously by the Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences.


James Ryan is named dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education.


Ryan announces the creation of the Harvard Teacher Fellows Program, an innovative pathway for Harvard College undergraduates to enter a teaching care.


The Saul Zaentz Early Education Initiative launches. The first initiative of its kind, it promotes the knowledge, professional learning, and collective action necessary to cultivate optimal early learning environments and experiences.